The Hupf's Bookshelf
Published Authors:
Zetta and Mitchell Hupf

Reading a book is like looking through a window!

Henry's Reviews

June 17, 2009 Reviewed by Cheryl L. Zemke author of Defenders of Naturion

 Zetta Hupf's book Henry Goes To The Park is an endearing childrens book with animal characters for all to enjoy. It is for the beginner reader, as well as a wonderful story for parents to read at bedtime. It has a lifelong message of determination and confidence that parents will find refreshing. Definitely a story that everyone will want to add to their collection. 5 stars *****

June 30, 2009  Reviewed by Marsha Coles - Author of Sarah & Sally's Big Day

 Henry Goes to the Park by Zetta and Mitchell Hupf is a great story teaching kids never to give up. As Henry tries to find the perfect place to hide I found myself encouraging him all the way. What a great story to read with your kids!

July 19, 2009 ~Reviewed by Angela Hall~Author of Priscilla Pennybrook
 
Zetta Hupf's book Henry Goes To The Park is a wonderful, entertaining story
for children to enjoy. It is super creative and has a great story to
entertain adults as well.  100% a must have book that every parent should
add to their collection.
Oct. 18, 2009~Reviewed by Jennifer Swanson~Author of Penny & Rio: Penny & Rio The Mysterious Backyard Meeting and Penny & Rio: The The Locked Doghouse Mystery
Henry Goes to the Park is written by a 10-year-old child and his mother.  It describes the happy antics of a small group of zoo animals.  Searching for a way to enliven their day, Henry Hippo, Erwen the Elephant, and Jeffrey the Giraffe engage in the timeless game of Hide-and-Seek. Will everyone be found?  The colorful illustrations enhance the story and show the animals at play.  Fun for the whole family. 
  
~~Review: Detective Buddy and the Case of the Missing Football
– and –  Henry Goes to the Park  By Zetta and Mitchell Hupf

I must admit I have a problem in staying within the ‘Review Rules’ for
these two books. First off, as these books are written for children, it
shouldn't be how much we adults enjoy a book, but how much the child enjoys
the book. The books are well illustrated; their stories simple and easy to
follow, and both end with a good moral: Detective Buddy finds the missing
football by retracing the friends’ steps – good advice to remember when
one has lost something - and Henry the Hippo learns that he too can win the
game, no matter his size or colour.  But what of the story-line? Is it
something with which a child can identify? And therein lies my problem…
you see, I asked my five-year-old daughter what she thought of the stories
and she broke the rules.

“How many stars for these two books?” I asked (in all seriousness)
after I'd read them to her and she'd listened shiny-eyed without fidgeting.

“Ten,” she said, holding up both hands with fingers splayed. Her smile
matched her eyes.

“Um… the most you can give is five,” I said. “Do you want to give
them five each?”

“No, ten each,” she said.

The most I can give is five stars, so… “How much did you like them?”
I asked, trying a different tack.

“This much!” she replied stretching her arms as wide as she could.

And so I’ll leave it up to you to decide how to cram ten stars into five
places, or determine what words one can use to describe just how good a
book is from a child holding her arms wide and saying, eyes shining bright,
that she liked it “This much!”

Josh Stafford
Author of "Where Vultures Roost" and "Dragon in the Sky"

Detective Buddy's Reviews

June 20, 2009 Reviewed by Cheryl L. Zemke author of Defenders of Naturion

Zetta Hupf's book Detective Buddy and The Case of the Missing Football is another great childrens story by this creative new author. The use of animals as characters gives the reader a unique way of relating with the story. Jack looses his football and Zetta makes you feel emotionally connected in helping find it for him. This is a story children and parents will enjoy reading.    5 stars  *****

June 30, 2009  Reviewed by Marsha Coles - Author of Sarah & Sally's Big Day

Detective Buddy and the Case of the Missing Football by Zetta and Mitchell Hupf is a story that every kid, and every kid at heart, will love. As soon as Detective Buddy is on the case you find that you are searching for clues right along with him and when the story is over you can't wait to read the next case for Detective Buddy. Great Story!

July 19, 2009    Reviewed by ~Angela Hall~Author of Priscilla Pennybrook

Zetta Hupf's book "Detective Buddy and The Case of the Missing Football" is another creative childrens story from this talented new author.  Young readers
will feel as though they are on the hunt right along side buddy. Another must have for your collection!
 
Oct. 18, 2009~Reviewed by Jennifer Swanson~Author of Penny & Rio: Penny & Rio The Mysterious Backyard Meeting and Penny & Rio: The The Locked Doghouse Mystery
Detective Buddy and the Case of the Missing Football is a delightful story written by a 10-year-old author as told to his mother.  It captures the youthful imagination of a child who loves animals and detectives.  A book that is fun to share with friends and family alike.

Alex Fox Reviews

August 23, 2009
 
Zetta & Mitchell Hupf's New book, Alex Fox Moves to Town is another wonderfully written story that your child will enjoy for years to come. Eye catching illustrations and a meaningful story about making new friends, make this a must have for every parent. 
~5 stars~
Angela Hall~Author Priscilla Pennybrook~